Fishing with Mr Crabtree

Here it is my first angling book. Given to me by my old man when I was a nipper. It’s a cracking book written by Terry Venables which evolved out of a comic strip piece featured in the Daily Mail in the 1940’s. It features a man – Mr Crabtree, and a lad – I cant remember his name might have been Peter, I dunno, how to fish. Its brilliant and in a way it reminds me of my guided trips of the Dorset Stour teaching my friends to pike fish, except Mr Crabtree is a successful fisherman who catches loads, in fact he should be called Mr Smuggysmugpants but cant you just have it all when you live in made up cartoon land.

1962 Edition my first fishing book

1962 Edition my first fishing book

Anyway, its a brilliant read and I thought Mr Crabtree’s escapades would never be repeated. Imagine my joy when I discovered a new series has been filmed and is due for release.  More info here. Can’t bloody wait.

Leave a comment

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

Behind the Willows

...where the ladies are headstrong and the man is outnumbered.

The Incompleat Angler Blog

The Angling Blog of a Fishing Guide & Obsessive Angler

My Mainely Girl Adventures

A blog and podcast about the adventures of a woman hunting, fishing, trapping, foraging, and living in the Maine outdoors.

BackWaterFly

Where the fish are meaner!

Informative Angler

Carter Bomengen

Kawasaki Fly Fishing

Fly Fishing Info Around Kawasaki / Yokohama Area in Japan

A Fledgling Fly Fisher

A sea & coarse angler's journey into learning to fly fish.

Donfishin'

Fishing adventures

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Bubbles and booyah

Where fashion, fitness and (vegetarian) food collide. And champagne, obvs.

River Ramble

Fly fishing, friends, food and fun

Alex Jardine Fly Fishing

The ramblings of an addicted fly fisherman, looking at fly tying and fishing both home and abroad

leaky waders and raggedy hats

a blog about fishing, hunting, and life

Scotland's Nature

Visit our website @ www.nature.scot

Taylor Joyce Fly Fishing

Fly Fishing - TN > CO

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

this is... The Neighborhood

the Story within the Story

Outdoors Hunting Bows and Crossbows

www.outdoorsexperience.com

Big Kype

Hunting. Fishing. Guiding. Minnesota > Alaska

maddicatch

Hér verða veiðifréttir og veiðiblogg af sjálfum mér og fleirum. Einnig vonast ég eftir að vera með veiðistaðarlýsingu á nokkrum stöðum.